South Park Football Club

fa chartered leagues Web-banner-320-x-48px

Whyteleafe 3 - 1 South Park

Econowise_OnWhite (1)


Park lost their 100% league record as they lost for the first time on Whyteleafe’s 3G pitch despite taking a first half lead.


Jack Mazzone played in Lavery whose shot was blocked. Park broke quickly from defending a corner and Joe Jackson latched onto through ball his shot was pushed away by Pierson in the Leafe goal. Nathan Ayling’s free kick picked out Mazzone who headed over the bar. Hutchings long range shot was saved by Thomas. Clayton’s corner from the left found Postance in space but the Leafe forward put his chance over the Park bar. Park broke the deadlock in the 32nd minute when Kieran Lavery’s through ball picked out Chris Smith’s run for the Park forward to lift his shot over the advancing Pierson. Postance headed over the bar when unmarked for Leafe. James McElligott played a one two with Mazzone but shot straight at Pierson. Jackson’s shot on the turn was pushed away by Pierson.


Park were caught knapping at the start of the second half as Whyteleafe levelled the scores in the 47th minute. Breaking down the right the ball was squared to Elsom who scored from close range. Leafe took the lead in the 55th minute when Elsom ran onto a through ball shot past Callum Thomas from 15 yards. Lavery hit a free kick from 20 yards narrowly wide of the post and then the Park skipper ran onto Jackson’s pass but he shot into the side netting. Thomas blocked a goal bound shot and then Lavery had another shot blocked for Park. Whyteleafe made it 3-1 in the 75th minute when on loan forward Tommy Hutchings shot from 16 yards beat Thomas. Dean Lovegrove’s free kick was flicked on by Ayling however the Leafe defence cleared the danger. Jackson headed a Lovegrove corner wide at the far post whilst Thomas in the Park goal pushed away a long range shot to deny the hosts.


Line-up: Callum Thomas, James McElligott, Luke Elliot, Jack Stafford, Adam Pullin, Nathan Ayling, Dan Moody, Jack Mazzone, Chris Smith, Kieran Lavery, Joe Jackson Subs: Josh Gallagher, Izzy Adebayo, Dean Lovegrove, Dan Stone